Board Of Commissioners:

Per State Law, Fire Commissioners are elected to set Agency policy, adopt an annual budget and oversee the Fire Chief.

A five-member Board of Commissioners administers East County Fire & Rescue. The board meets twice each month, on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6:30 PM—usually at Station 91 (next door to Grove Field).  Commissioner Meetings are open to the public.  The Board of Commissioners allows public comment on matters before them.  All public comment should be made in accordance with the published Citizen Comment Guidelines.

Mike Berg

Term Ends 2021

Mike Berg was elected to the East County Fire & Rescue Board of Fire Commissioners in the Fall of 2009.  His six year term began January 1, 2010.

Mike Berg was in the Navy for four years.  He started his professional career with Fire District 4, continuing after a District merge.  Today he is retired from Vancouver Fire Department.

Martha Martin

Term Ends 2023

Dr. Martha Martin grew up in Washougal, graduating from Washougal High School.  She has Bachelor Degrees in Music and Psychology, a Masters in Counseling, and a Doctorate in Psychology.  She is a psychologist in private practice in Washougal, is married to Richard Hamby, and has one son, two grandsons, and one granddaughter.

Dr. Martin was ECFR Citizen Liaison for over two years, and past Board Member of the Camas-Washougal Chamber, Concerned Citizens In Action (President 2007-2011), and Vice President of the Clark County Arts Commission; and is a current Vice President of the Parkersville Heritage Foundation. Dr. Martin was elected to the Board in November of 2013 to complete the remaining 4 years of this term, which followed her appointment in May of 2012.

“I encourage citizens to attend Commissioner Meetings; we welcome your questions and feedback”.

Tom Gianatasio

Term Ends 2023

Tom has been a resident of Washougal for five years.  He has been married to his wife Karen for 41 years, has four daughters and ten grandchildren with two more on the way.  Tom was appointed to the board December 2, 2014 to fill a vacant  position.

Tom retired from a metro fire department after serving 36 years as a professional firefighter, with the rank of captain.  He also served as a volunteer firefighter in a smaller neighboring department for four years.

Tom has been a real estate investor for over 38 years, a small business owner of a construction company that also did commercial tenant improvement build-outs and is now retired.  Tom still actively manages his real estate property investments and is a member of a property steering committee.  He is chairman and road maintenance manager of Sunnyside Road Maintenance Committee.  Tom holds two college degrees, one in Aeronautics and one in Fire Science.  He was on a board of directors for a private public use airpark and served four two-year terms.

Sherry Petty

Term Ends 2021

Resident of Washougal for 13 years. Married to Gary for 22 years and have one son.

Have been an active participant in public meetings at ECFR for several months and look forward to what the future holds. Looking forward to serving the community as a Fire Commissioner and speaking with the public, employees and volunteers.

Was an employee of what is now Comcast Cable for over 21 years most of which was as a supervisor for one or more warehouse’s.

I enjoy helping out my neighbors and working in my flower beds and on our property in my spare time.

Mike Taggart

Filling Unexpired Term, Ends 2019

Mr. Taggart served as a volunteer Wilderness Ranger for the US Forest Service for 25 years and is the founder and Chair Emeritus of the Forest Service Volunteer Association. He also served as a Fire Commissioner for the Idyllwild (CA) Fire Protection District. He received the President’s Call to Service award for life-long   volunteerism as well as the San Bernardino National Forest Supervisor’s award for visionary leadership in 2004.

Mike studied Communications at UCLA prior to attending Control Data Institute to study Computer Engineering and Programming.  Mike has been involved with leading edge engineering and science research his entire professional career and is currently the Managing Director and CEO of RhizoSystems, LLC and the CEO of Software Science North, LLC.